Consular Affairs  
  West Java  
  Central Java  
  East Java  
  West Sumatera  
  North Sumatera  
  1sanur45.gif (46672 bytes)  

From Kuala Lumpur to eight Indonesia Tourism Destinations


It is only 45 minutes to 2 hours flight from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, you have already landed in one of destinations in Indonesia. You can directly fly from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) or LCCT to 8 destinations in Indonesia (Medan, Padang, Pekanbaru, Jakarta, Bandung, Solo / Yogjakarta, Surabaya and Bali) by using the National Flight of Indonesia (Garuda) and Malaysia (Malaysian Airlines System / MAS) as well as other flights, and budget airline, such as  Air Asia.

There are many other destinations of course, but this booklet will only give you a complete information on the eight destinations above as well as their nearest cities and tourism spot.

KL – Indonesia Tourism package consists of:

  1. KL – Medan (cover North Sumatera Province).
  2. KL – Padang (cover West Sumatera province).
  3. KL – Pekanbaru (cover Riau and Kepulauan Riau Provinces).
  4. KL – Jakarta (Special Region of Jakarta).
  5. KL – Bandung (cover West Java Province).
  6. KL – Solo/Yogyakarta (cover Central Java).
  7. KL – Surabaya (cover East Java Province)
  8. KL – Bali (cover Bali Province).

Fly to Indonesia and enjoy the wonderful of KL – Indonesia Tourism packages you choose.


Indonesia at A Glance

The Republic of Indonesia is the world’s largest archipelago consists of more than 17.000 islands situated between Asia and Australia continents. There are five big islands, namely: Papua (previously Irian Jaya), Sumatera, Kalimantan, Java and Sulawesi.

Geographical Location:
Located on the Southeast Asia archipelago between the Indian and the Pacific Ocean.

Total area is 1919.440 sq km; 1826.440 sq  km land and 93000 sq km water.

Indonesia has 3 division of times, West Indonesia GMT +7, (Sumatera, Java, Bali) Central Indonesia GMT + 8 (Kalimantan, Nusa Tenggara, Sulawesi) and East Indonesia GMT + 9 (Maluku, Papua).

More than 220 million (2005), which consists of Javanese 45%, Sundanese 14%, Madurese 7,5% Malays 7,5%, other 26%.

Capital: Jakarta
Government: Republic, Presidential.
Languages: Bahasa Indonesia (National and official )

Indonesia’s state philosophy of Pancasila allows freedom of worship.  Major religions in Indonesia are Muslim 88%, Protestant 5%, Roman Catholic 3%, Hindu 2%, Buddhist 1%, other 1%.

History and Culture:
Indonesia colonized by Dutch from the early 17th century until the occupation of Japan in 1942. Japan Occupied Indonesia for 3 year. In 17 August 1945, Indonesia bravely declared its independence and called itself as Negara Kesatuan Republik Indonesia. 

Unity in Diversity, Indonesia’s motto, accurately describes the nation’s character. Widely diverse cultures and extraordinary people have been brought together in one nation with one national language, Bahasa Indonesia unite more than 300 local languages and dialects. Indonesia is house for more than a hundred ethic groups.

To unite its diversity, Indonesia has maintained a philosophy: Binneka Tunggal Ika.  The big population of Indonesia, more than two hundred million people, creates an amazing mosaic of Indonesian culture.  Each ethnic group has its uniqueness and different one another. It makes trip to Indonesia archipelago as an unforgotten  experience.

Entry Requirement:
Visitors to Indonesia must be in possession of a valid passport or travel document with a minimum validity of six months beyond the intended visiting period. Visa is required for all ports of arrival and departure. Visitors also need to pay airport tax.

The unit of currency is the Indonesian Rupiah  or Rp. Foreign currencies can be converted at banks and money changers in most major city in Indonesia .

Tropical; hot, humid; more moderate in highlands.

Getting in and out:
Entry and exit must be made through certain specified gateways. The main gateway to Indonesia is through Sukarno – Hatta International Airport, Banten Province. Other point of entry/exit: Medan, Padang, Batam, Bandung, Solo, Surabaya, Bali, Mataram, Kupang, Pontianak, Balikpapan, Ujungpandang, Manado and Biak.

Copyright2005@KBRI Kuala Lumpur